Puppy (New Member)

Current Great Pyrenees Owner

Exclamation Crate Training Feels Impossible

Hi!! I am a brand new member here, and a brand new pyr puppy owner. Technically Poogan (7 weeks old, we've had him for a week) is a mix Ė his dad is 50/50 pyr and newfie, and his mom is 75/25. He definitely seems to favor the pyr genes. We also have a 5yr old mastiff mix (Baloo), whom we adopted at 2.5yrs old.

I have been attempting crate training Ė this is my first time ever, being that Baloo was post-puppyhood when we got him. We were very lucky that Baloo has always done great on his own... no accidents, never gets into anything, no separation anxiety, no need for a crate. SO, I am totally lost with this whole crate training thing and have been doing a lot of reading up on it. I feel like I really NEED to crate train Poogan, because I want to be able to leave without him going potty in the house, destroying things, etc... most of all I definitely want to avoid separation anxiety.

Poogan happily eats all of his meals in his crate, and is open to wandering in there to grab a toy. We are working on a command for entering the crate, which he is happy to do for a treat. He does NOT voluntarily enter and lie down in there; he did once or twice last week, but not since then. If he is already asleep, I can *sometimes* transfer him to the crate (door open) and he'll sleep in there for maybe 5-20 minutes before removing himself. Most of the time when I try to transfer him he'll immediately wake up and remove himself to go back to sleeping on the floor, usually in my general vicinity. We can do this song and dance ad nauseam, he simply will not settle in there.