Thread: Newfie-GP puppy

Current Great Pyrenees Owner

Default Newfie-GP puppy

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site. We rescued a Newfie- GP mix from a local shelter on Wednesday. His name is Jasper and he is 22 pounds. They couldn't give us an exact age...they said 8-11 weeks. I'm taking him to our vet on Thursday to see if Jasper's age could be narrowed down. He was found wandering in a rural area and no one claimed him so off to the shelter he went. He is very sweet and quiet, and submissive. My maltipoo is his buddy and the leader of the two! I have 20 years of experience with Newfoundlands (my last one passed away last spring), but zero GP experience. I hope you can help with questions:

1) He is being fed Nutro Large breed puppy dry food with 2 tablespoons of Nutro puppy wet mixed in to entice. He is picky and does not eat much- unlike Newfs which chow down every meal! I want to feed him 2 cups 3 times a day but he is eating half that. He doesn't seem thin. I can feel his ribs but there is a layer above them.

2) stairs! With My previous Newfie puppies, I carried them up and down stairs to go out for the first 4 months because they are so prone to hip dyplasia. What do you think about stairs?

3) neutering. The shelter wanted me to sign a statement saying I would get him neutered in 30 days. I refused. I said within 18 months. Newfies are typically not neutered before a year. Is it the same with GPs?

Any answers you have would be appreciated! Jasper is black with cream legs and a cream back end. He is great with our 3 girls and all pets so far. I couldn't leave him in the shelter.
    Thanks,
    Anne

Old Dawg (Senior Member) nick's spirit's Avatar

Welcome Anne & Jasper...and family

what a wonderful present you gave to this guy...his own loving warm home for the holidays.....may you have many more together