Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Puppy (New Member)

Current Great Pyrenees Owner

Default How much did your pup weigh at 8-9 weeks? How big are they now?

Hi everyone, really new to the forum (first post ). I am a Stay at home dad with two toddlers and we just got ourselves our very first pup! Blitz is a 9 week old pure bred (or so I was told) great Pyr. She went to the vet and at 9 weeks she already weighs 19lbs! I'm by no means an expert but that was more than I had thought she would weigh! So it got me thinking, how much did your pups weigh around that age? How big did they end up getting?

Sorry if this isn't really the place for this thread, I can definitely delete it if it's better suited somewhere else

I look forward to becoming more of a part of the community and talking about these beautiful fluffy beasts!!

Old Dawg (Senior Member) nick's spirit's Avatar

Welcome super Dad & Blitz!!!

It's been awhile since I've had a puppy...Rudy is now 3 yrs...and is a very compact guy at 73 pounds...

There is a thread that was started on "Health discussion" regarding growing puppies & their weights, you might want to check that out & read what the others have experienced in the puppy weight department.

One thing I would like to point out, if you vet is happy with Blitz weight, and she is getting a good quality food...the one thing you want to watch with large breed puppies is not to have them gain too much weight too quickly. You want their bones to grow steadily & slowly.

Don't be concerned if she doesn't "measure up" to other pups...she will grow at her own speed and for her own body frame
    I just looked it up & Rudy was 28 pounds at 3 months old. He was never on puppy food, and has never had a large appetite, he's probably our healthiest Pyr out of the 4 we have had.

Look forward to hearing more about you, your family & of course Miss Blitz!

Old Dawg (Senior Member) Rebbetzin's Avatar

Rebbetzin`s Photos