PDA

View Full Version : Server change



risestar
10-03-2015, 10:33 AM
The site is under maintenance, we recently changed servers and some areas are not working correctly.

nick's spirit
10-03-2015, 10:35 AM
so far at least I can access the site, before I was getting "data base" error message
thanks for keeping the site up!!

Antonia
10-03-2015, 11:57 AM
I was getting data base error too. Nice to have the site accessible again. Thank you for the hard work maintaining it!

risestar
10-03-2015, 12:32 PM
Yes it was messy, but will get it cleaned up asap

Tsunibear
10-03-2015, 02:30 PM
Okay now that makes sense. Server changes tend to always be messy. Thank you for keeping us updated. You are awesome Risestar.

Terry
10-04-2015, 03:45 AM
Glad I wasn't the only one down.:RpS_smile:

Janet
10-04-2015, 03:58 PM
Oh wow, glad to see the site back again, I was worried! :-)

risestar
10-08-2015, 12:25 PM
I will be rolling the non-forum areas into a bridge that integrates it into the discussion forum software over the next week or so.

nick's spirit
10-08-2015, 01:49 PM
thanks for the advance knowledge...do you think the site will be down again while you are doing that change?

risestar
10-08-2015, 02:28 PM
No, I will be doing that in the background and publishing it when done.

Some of the issues relate to aging of some of the software on the site, some of the components are no longer developed, creating issues when server technology updates. As of July, this site is 10 years old.



thanks for the advance knowledge...do you think the site will be down again while you are doing that change?

nick's spirit
10-09-2015, 11:13 AM
Wow!!! 10 years....congratulations!!!

Jewel
10-09-2015, 07:11 PM
As of July, this site is 10 years old.

Wow!! Again, a big thank you for creating and maintaining this site!!!!

Davey Benson
10-12-2015, 08:23 PM
Wow!! Again, a big thank you for creating and maintaining this site!!!!

Ditto !!!!!

Chicag0_Red
10-13-2015, 09:42 AM
Some of the issues relate to aging

Now that I can identify with ... :couch2:

Skippy
10-25-2015, 03:08 PM
Have not been real active for a long time. Your up grade seems to be working well so far. Don't know if it is part of the upgrade or some kind of bug. Many of the posts now have highlighted words that I know the poster did not put there. They take you to an offsite place that will sell you a bench or a Lollie doll and many other things. Just thought you should know.

Skippy
10-25-2015, 03:14 PM
Guess you must know about some. Lollie is not highlighted, but here is the website for granpa
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T79JLQO?tag=viglink23122-20
And here is the one for bark
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Earthgro-2-cu-ft-Groundcover-Bark-88352185/100355687?AID=11210757&PID=4003003&SID=ig72jhf6gz00qqga001rw&cm_mmc=CJ-_-4003003-_-11210757&cj=true

Lancelot
11-08-2015, 08:13 AM
Is anyone else having to go out and then come back onto the site after posting to a thread? Or is it just me. I'm so PC challenged I still haven't learned how to get 2 pictures in one post.

Tsunibear
11-08-2015, 12:08 PM
Is anyone else having to go out and then come back onto the site after posting to a thread? Or is it just me. I'm so PC challenged I still haven't learned how to get 2 pictures in one post.

No it's not just you. It's been doing that to me since the server change. A lot of sites do it now days so I am assuming it's normal.

Lancelot
11-09-2015, 06:02 AM
Thanks Tsuni. Makes me feel better. Not a big problem as I get to see new pictures each time I sign back in. And I loves pictures.

Tsunibear
11-09-2015, 07:54 AM
No problem Lance. It is nice seeing the new pictures.

Antonia
11-09-2015, 01:09 PM
No it's not just you. It's been doing that to me since the server change. A lot of sites do it now days so I am assuming it's normal.

I am not having this problem. After posting it takes you to a page for a minute but then brings you to my new post. No need to log in again or anything...

Tsunibear
11-09-2015, 06:48 PM
I am not having this problem. After posting it takes you to a page for a minute but then brings you to my new post. No need to log in again or anything...

I get both. So I won't lie it could be my browser. If my browser feels the site doesn't redirect fast enough I get sent to the main forum page but, I don't get logged out ever.

risestar
11-20-2015, 01:23 PM
I will have a look at the firewall settings to see if there is a caching issue. For whatever reason, this site gets targeted from DOS attackers and so the firewall was necessary. There are however pros and cons to it.




I get both. So I won't lie it could be my browser. If my browser feels the site doesn't redirect fast enough I get sent to the main forum page but, I don't get logged out ever.

Tsunibear
11-20-2015, 06:26 PM
I will have a look at the firewall settings to see if there is a caching issue. For whatever reason, this site gets targeted from DOS attackers and so the firewall was necessary. There are however pros and cons to it.

Yeah I know the site gets hit by bots. So I just deal with it. It isn't a big deal for me.

risestar
01-12-2016, 04:30 PM
I'm mostly complete with switching the site over to a more integrated style. Please let me know if you come across any sections that are not working.