PDA

View Full Version : How to stop Food Aggression?

Cybil
04-03-2010, 01:46 AM
Hello all,
So I've been reading up and talking to different people but I'm wondering what everyone here has found useful in stopping food aggression. I've been told different things (sort of poke/touch them in the flank/side to divert their attention, remove the food, etc.) and I'd like to know what has actually worked for people that have Great Pyrenees...? Just curious.

Autumn & Jax
04-03-2010, 10:19 AM
I have never had a food aggressive dog, so I have no personal experience with this problem. When Jax was a pup the whole family took turns hand feeding and working with him so he would not be aggressive. Not preaching at you at all, just want you to know where I am coming from. Go to the National Geographic Channel website and look up episode of Hyde, Vada & Nacho. They have a section of full episodes you can watch for free. It is about people who have two wolf hybrids. One wolf is dog aggressive, the other is food aggressive. It shows how to work with food aggression. It's a liitle funny because sitting down the white wolf is almost as tall as Cesar.

Jewel
04-03-2010, 11:15 AM
Thankfully have never had to deal with this issue. Understand that the book titled Mine! by Jean Donaldson is very highly recommended for dealing with resource guarding. It is supposed to have step by step lessons to countercondition the dog. How old is your boy now? He is but a few months old, no?

Milu
04-03-2010, 11:50 AM