PDA

View Full Version : Which Type of Collar for Training?

Cybil
02-10-2010, 12:07 AM
What type of collar for training does everyone on here use/prefer? I've read that choke collars can do long term damage and that regular collars aren't very effective. I have read some good things about using Prong/Pinch collars (only during initial training), but they do look a little aggressive. But as I've said before, I'm new to the breed and I want to get all the training right the first time around.

It is vitally important that the puppy learns to walk on a lead as it will be travelling with me and will be encountering new livestock, dogs, cats, etc., and I can't have it out of control for the safety of other people & animals, so any advice/opinions will be greatly appreciated.

vin63
02-10-2010, 08:01 AM
I've used choke collars for as long as I can remember...keep in mind that it's not necessarily the collar, but the person using it. If used properly, it can be an effective training collar.

Kate53
02-10-2010, 08:32 AM
I've used choke collars for as long as I can remember...keep in mind that it's not necessarily the collar, but the person using it. If used properly, it can be an effective training collar.

Exactly, Vin. It's the "hand" that makes all the difference when teaching a dog to walk on leash. Pyrs generally will respond very well to positive reinforcement and encouragement. I personally use a Martingale collar exclusively. "Premier" makes the biggest selection and can be purchased online at most pet supply places. Measure your Pyr's neck and add 2 inches....the collar can be adjusted quite a bit to allow for growth and fur.

Jewel
02-10-2010, 08:44 AM
Since you don't have the pup yet, I would highly recommend that you read up on loose leash training. I think having the pup train to walk loose leash is the best solution overall. Intense socialization of the pup is also vital to train the pup to stay within your control in all environments.